Deep Tracks

Deep Tracks
Deep Tracks
Deep Tracks logo since April 2009
Broadcast area United States
Canada
Frequency XM 27
Sirius 27
Dish Network 6016
Format Classic rock/Deep cuts
Class Satellite Radio Station
Owner Sirius XM Radio
Website SiriusXM: Deep Tracks

Deep Tracks is a Sirius XM Radio channel featuring deep cuts of classic rock music, which encompasses lesser known album tracks, one-hit wonders, concert recordings, "forgotten 45s" and "B-side" tracks. The channel's format resembles progressive rock radio of the early 1970s.

Previous logo, used until April 2009. Still seen on current brochures of Sirius Canada.

Earle Bailey is Deep Tracks' current programming director and one of its on-air voices; Pat St. John and Meg Griffin are also heard regularly on the channel during the week, with Dan Neer, Michael Tearson, and Pam Merly appearing on weekends. The original programmer for the channel, the late George Taylor Morris, departed in the summer of 2008 due to health issues.

The station appears as channel 27[1] (previously 40) on XM Satellite Radio, channel 27[2] (previously on 16) on Sirius Satellite Radio (replacing The Vault on November 12, 2008) and was available online through AOL Radio. It can also be heard on Dish Network channel 6016 and was also on DirecTV channel 840 until February 9, 2010. As of April 2009, this channel has changed its logo, taking the logo from former XM channel Top Tracks, which was replaced by Classic Vinyl post-Sirius/XM merger.

From August 14–16, 2009, the channel was temporarily preempted for The Woodstock Channel, in conjunction with the 40th anniversary of the Woodstock Festival. The channel aired artists that played at the concert, including live recordings from the original 1969 festival. The channel reverted back to the Deep Tracks name and format on August 17.[3]

From February 4–8, 2010, the channel was once again preempted for The Who Radio.

Programming

Deep Tracks is the home of a couple high profile programs on XM Radio, in addition to several specialty programs.

  • Theme Time Radio Hour with Bob Dylan - Wednesdays at 10 AM ET/7 AM PT. Bob Dylan becomes the DJ for one hour every week on the channel, with several replays. Each week, Dylan chooses a new theme for the playlist he hand picks. Most of the songs Dylan chooses are obscure titles which are not in XM's library, and have to be searched out by creative director Lee Abrams. Encore presentations of the show air Wednesdays on The Village (XM 15), and Sundays on The Spectrum (Sirius 18/XM 45). The show is syndicated to the United Kingdom's BBC Radio 2 and BBC 6 Music.
  • Tom Petty's Buried Treasure - Aired Mondays at 10 AM ET/7 AM PT. Tom Petty broadcasted each week from his Los Angeles home, bringing together a playlist of classic songs and obscure music from his collection. The show went on hiatus as Petty wished to devote his time to other projects, but soon returned to the airwaves. The show formerly aired all day Thursdays on XM2, XMX.
  • Old, New, Borrowed and Blue - Weekdays at 9 AM ET/6 AM PT. Listeners send in their four-song set suggestions to Deep Tracks to play on the air, as long as the set includes something old, something new, something borrowed (a cover song), and something blue (a blues track, a sad song or even one with "blue" in the title).
  • King Biscuit Flower Hour - Mondays at 3 PM ET/Noon PT. A nationally syndicated music show consisting of live performances from acclaimed rock bands. Encores are Tuesdays at 9 PM ET and Saturdays at 3 AM ET.
  • Fresh Tracks - Mondays at 10 PM ET/7 PM PT. This weekly show plays new music from familiar artists.
  • All Hand-Mixed Vinyl - Tuesdays at 10 AM ET/7 AM PT. Hosted by Bill Fitzhugh. Setlists are at http://www.billfitzhugh.com/.
  • Deep Tracks Undercover - Tuesdays at 8 PM ET/5 PM PT and Fridays and Saturdays at midnight ET/9 PM PT. This show features very recognized cover songs.
  • The Grateful Dead Hour - Wednesdays at 11 PM ET/8 PM PT. Hosted by David Gans, this show features live Grateful Dead performances and covers from other artists.
  • Final Friday Concert Series - On the last Friday of each month, this show appears on Deep Tracks to broadcast live concerts from the XM Performance Theater.
  • The Blacklight Room - Fridays at 10 PM ET/7 PM PT. This is a specialty show for psychedelic music. Encores are Sundays at 2 AM ET.
  • Earle Bailey's Headtrips - Saturdays at 5 PM ET/2 PM PT. This show features songs that tie in to a certain theme. The show is similar to Theme Time Radio Hour but with a more contemporary approach.
  • The Art of Rock - Interviews with rock and roll artists.
  • The Deep Tracks Box Set Symphony - A music and informative interview show based around music box-set releases. The show plays every song on the featured set, interlaced with interviews and stories from the band members and their friends.

References

External links


Wikimedia Foundation. 2010.

См. также в других словарях:

  • Deep Tracks — (Нисеко,Япония) Категория отеля: 3 звездочный отель Адрес: 044 0081 Хоккайдо, Нисеко, Ya …   Каталог отелей

  • Deep cut — In radio programming, a deep cut or deep track is a song which commercial radio stations rarely broadcast. It is taken from the fact that on vinyl albums, the hit singles promoted by record companies are usually found early on in the record, with …   Wikipedia

  • Deep Purple in Rock — Studio album by Deep Purple Released 3 June 1970 …   Wikipedia

  • Deep Cuts (The Knife album) — Deep Cuts Studio album by The Knife Released 17 January 2003 ( …   Wikipedia

  • Deep House — ist eine der langsamsten und die melodiöseste Stilart des House. Musikalisch dominiert der gut tanzbare, gerade 4/4 Takt. Die Geschwindigkeit bewegt sich im Bereich von etwa 100 bis 127 Beats per minute. Inhaltsverzeichnis 1 Geschichte und… …   Deutsch Wikipedia

  • Deep Shadows and Brilliant Highlights — Studio album by HIM Released 27 August 2001 Genre …   Wikipedia

  • Deep Purple (album) — Deep Purple Studio album by Deep Purple Released 21 June 1969 (US) November 1969 (UK) Recorded …   Wikipedia

  • Deep Breakfast — Studio album by Ray Lynch Released 1984 Recorded 1984 …   Wikipedia

  • Deep Forest (Deep Forest album) — Deep Forest Studio album by Deep Forest Released 1992 …   Wikipedia

  • Deep Ng — Chinese name 吳浩康 (Traditional) Chinese name 吴浩康 (Simplified) Pinyin wu2 hao4 kang1 (Mandarin) Jyutping …   Wikipedia


Поделиться ссылкой на выделенное

Прямая ссылка:
Нажмите правой клавишей мыши и выберите «Копировать ссылку»