Timeline of the 2005 Pacific hurricane season


Timeline of the 2005 Pacific hurricane season

ImageSize = width:800 height:200PlotArea = top:10 bottom:80 right:20 left:20

DateFormat = dd/mm/yyyyPeriod = from:01/05/2005 till:31/10/2005TimeAxis = orientation:horizontalScaleMinor = grid:black unit:month increment:1 start:01/05/2005

Colors = id:canvas value:gray(0.88) id:TD value:rgb(0.38,0.73,1)

Backgroundcolors = canvas:canvas

BarData = barset:Hurricane bar:Month

PlotData=

barset:Hurricane width:10 align:left fontsize:S shift:(4,-4) anchor:till from:17/05/2005 till:21/05/2005 color:C1 text:"Adrian" barset:break from:21/06/2005 till:26/06/2005 color:TS text:"Beatriz" from:26/06/2005 till:03/07/2005 color:TS text:"Calvin" from:04/07/2005 till:07/07/2005 color:TS text:"Dora" from:18/07/2005 till:22/07/2005 color:TS text:"Eugene" from:03/08/2005 till:04/08/2005 color:TD text:"One-C" from:09/08/2005 till:17/08/2005 color:C1 text:"Fernanda" from:11/08/2005 till:16/08/2005 color:TS text:"Greg" from:19/08/2005 till:28/08/2005 color:C2 text:"Hilary" barset:break from:25/08/2005 till:03/09/2005 color:TS text:"Irwin" from:12/09/2005 till:25/09/2005 color:C3 text:"Jova" from:14/09/2005 till:01/10/2005 color:C4 text:"Kenneth" from:17/09/2005 till:19/09/2005 color:TS text:"Lidia" from:18/09/2005 till:26/09/2005 color:C1 text:"Max" from:23/09/2005 till:01/10/2005 color:TS text:"Norma" from:28/09/2005 till:05/10/2005 color:C2 text:"Otis" from:15/10/2005 till:17/10/2005 color:TD barset:break barset:skip barset:skip barset:skip barset:skip barset:skip barset:skip barset:skip from:19/10/2005 till:21/10/2005 color:TD text:"Sixteen-E"

bar:Month width:5 align:center fontsize:S shift:(0,-20) anchor:middle color:canvas from:01/05/2005 till:01/06/2005 text:May from:01/06/2005 till:01/07/2005 text:June from:01/07/2005 till:01/08/2005 text:July from:01/08/2005 till:01/09/2005 text:August from:01/09/2005 till:01/10/2005 text:September from:01/10/2005 till:31/10/2005 text:October

TextData = pos:(570,30) text:"(From the" pos:(618,30) text:"Saffir-Simpson Hurricane Scale)"

Below is an incomplete timeline of events of the 2005 Pacific hurricane season including storm formation, landfall, and dissipation. The graphical bar above gives a brief overview of storm activity during the season, and for convenience, the storm's maximum intensity is included as a color bar.__TOC__

May

;May 17:*2 p.m. PDT (2100 UTC) - Tropical Depression One-E forms 470 miles (760 km) WSW of Guatemala.:*8 p.m. PDT (0300 UTC May 18) - Tropical Depression One-E strengthens into Tropical Storm Adrian.;May 19:*10:15 a.m. PDT (1715 UTC) - Tropical Storm Adrian strengthens into Hurricane Adrian.:*11 p.m. PDT (0600 UTC May 20) - Adrian weakens to a tropical depression and makes landfall on the Gulf of Fonseca coast, Honduras.;May 20:*8 a.m. PDT (1500 UTC) - Adrian quickly dissipates over Honduras.

June

;June 21:*2 p.m. PDT (2100 UTC) - Tropical Depression Two-E forms near 13.7°N 102.1°W, located south of Mexico.;June 22:*8 a.m. PDT (1500 UTC) - Tropical Depression Two-E is upgraded to Tropical Storm Beatriz.;June 24:*8 a.m. PDT (1500 UTC) - Tropical Depression Beatriz dissipates.;June 26:*2 p.m. PDT (2100 UTC) - Tropical Depression Three-E forms near 13.9°N 98.3°W, located south of Mexico.:*11 p.m. PDT (0600 UTC June 27) - Tropical Depression Three-E strengthens into Tropical Storm Calvin.;June 28:*8 p.m. PDT (0300 UTC June 29) - Tropical Depression Calvin dissipates as it turns westward away from Mexico.

July

;July 3:*9 p.m. PDT (0400 UTC July 4) - Tropical Depression Four-E forms 145 miles (235 km) south of the Mexican port of Acapulco, Guerrero.;July 4:*2 p.m. PDT (2100 UTC) - Tropical Depression Four-E strengthens into Tropical Storm Dora.;July 7:*2 p.m. PDT (0900 UTC) - Tropical Depression Dora dissipates in the open sea.;July 18:*11 p.m. PDT (1500 UTC) - Tropical Storm Eugene forms from a tropical disturbance 230 miles (370 km) southwest of the Mexican port of Manzanillo, Colima.;July 20:*2 p.m. PDT (2100 UTC) - Tropical Depression Eugene dissipates several hundred miles west-southwest of Cabo San Lucas in Baja California Sur.

August

;August 3:*11 a.m. HST (2100 UTC) - Tropical Depression One-C forms in the Central Pacific about 1000 miles (1600 km) southeast of Hilo, Hawaii.;August 4:*5 p.m. HST (0300 UTC August 5) - Tropical Depression One-C degenerates into an open wave.;August 9:*8 a.m. PDT (1500 UTC) - Tropical Depression Six-E forms 690 miles (1100 km) south-southwest of Cabo San Lucas.:*8 p.m. PDT (0300 UTC August 10) - Tropical Depression Six-E strengthens into Tropical Storm Fernanda.;August 11:*2 a.m. PDT (0900 UTC) - Tropical Storm Fernanda strengthens into Hurricane Fernanda.:*4 a.m. PDT (1100 UTC) - Tropical Depression Seven-E forms 670 miles (1100 km) south of the southern tip of Baja California.:*8 a.m. PDT (1500 UTC) - Tropical Depression Seven-E strengthens into Tropical Storm Greg.;August 14:*2 p.m. PDT (2100 UTC) - Tropical Depression Greg dissipates in the open sea.;August 15:*8 p.m. PDT (0300 UTC August 16) - Tropical Depression Fernanda degenerates to a remnant low.;August 19:*8 a.m. PDT (1500 UTC) - Tropical Depression Eight-E forms 385 miles (620 km) southeast of Acapulco.:*8 p.m. PDT (0300 UTC August 20) - Tropical Depression Eight-E strengthens into Tropical Storm Hilary;August 20:*8 p.m. PDT (0300 UTC August 21) - Tropical Storm Hilary strengthens into Hurricane Hilary.;August 21:*8 p.m. PDT (0300 UTC August 22) - Hurricane Hilary reaches Category 2 intensity.;August 25:*2 p.m. PDT (2100 UTC) - Tropical Depression Hilary dissipates in the open Pacific.:*2 p.m. PDT (2100 UTC) - Tropical Depression Nine-E forms convert|150|mi|km southwest of Manzanillo, Mexico.;August 26:*2 a.m. PDT (0900 UTC) - Tropical Depression Nine-E strengthens into Tropical Storm Irwin.;August 28:*8 a.m. PDT (1500 UTC) - Tropical Depression Irwin dissipates in the open Pacific.

eptember

;September 11:*8 p.m. PDT (0200 UTC September 12) - Tropical Depression Ten-E forms convert|630|mi|km south-southwest of the tip of Baja California.

;September 14:*2 p.m. PDT (2100 UTC) - Tropical Depression Eleven-E forms convert|910|mi|km southwest of the tip of Baja California.:*8 p.m. PDT (0300 UTC September 15) - Tropical Depression Ten-E strengthens into Tropical Storm Jova.

;September 15:*2 a.m. PDT (0900 UTC) - Tropical Depression Eleven-E strengthens into Tropical Storm Kenneth.:*8 p.m. PDT (0300 UTC September 16) - Tropical Storm Kenneth strengthens into Hurricane Kenneth.

;September 16:*2 a.m. PDT (0900 UTC) - Tropical Storm Jova strengthens into Hurricane Jova.

;September 17:*2 a.m. PDT (0900 UTC) - Hurricane Jova reaches Category 2 intensity.:*2 a.m. PDT (0900 UTC) - Hurricane Kenneth reaches Category 3 intensity.:*8 a.m. PDT (1500 UTC) - Tropical Depression Twelve-E forms convert|790|mi|km south-southeast of the tip of Baja California.:*2 p.m. PDT (2100 UTC) - Tropical Depression Twelve-E strengthens into Tropical Storm Lidia.

;September 18:*8 a.m. PDT (1500 UTC) - Hurricane Kenneth reaches Category 4 intensity.:*9:30 a.m. PDT (1630 UTC) - Tropical Depression Thirteen-E forms convert|500|mi|km south-southeast of the tip of Baja California.:*2 p.m. PDT (2100 UTC) - Tropical Depression Thirteen-E strengthens into Tropical Storm Max.:*2 p.m. PDT (2100 UTC) - Tropical Storm Lidia weakens to a tropical depression and is absorbed by Tropical Storm Max.

;September 19:*2 p.m. PDT (2100 UTC) - Hurricane Jova reaches Category 3 intensity.:*8 p.m. PDT (0300 UTC September 20) - Tropical Storm Max strengthens into Hurricane Max.

;September 22:*8 a.m. PDT (1500 UTC) - Tropical Storm Max loses tropical characteristics.:*10 p.m. PDT (0500 UTC September 23) - Tropical Depression Fourteen-E forms 400 miles (640 km) southwest of Manzanillo, Mexico.

;September 23:*2 a.m. PDT (0900 UTC) - Tropical Depression Fourteen-E strengthens into Tropical Storm Norma.

;September 24:*8 p.m. PDT (0300 UTC September 25) - Tropical Storm Kenneth restrengthens into Hurricane Kenneth.:*5 p.m. HST (0300 UTC September 25) - Tropical Depression Jova dissipates in open water convert|270|mi|km northeast of Honolulu.

;September 25:*11.45 p.m. PDT (8.45 p.m. HST, 0645 UTC September 26) - Hurricane Kenneth crosses over 140W to enter the Central Pacific basin.

;September 27:*2 a.m. PDT (0900 UTC) - Tropical Depression Norma loses tropical characteristics.

;September 28:*2 a.m. PDT (0900 UTC) - Tropical Depression Fifteen-E forms convert|130|nmi|km south-southwest of Manzanillo, Mexico.

;September 29:*2 a.m. PDT (0900 UTC) - Tropical Depression Fifteen-E strengthens into Tropical Storm Otis.

;September 30:*2 a.m. PDT (0900 UTC) - Tropical Storm Otis strengthens into Hurricane Otis.:*11 a.m. HST (2100 UTC) - Tropical Depression Kenneth degenerates to an open wave.

October

;* No "named" storms formed this month. The only other times this happened was in the 1989, 1995, and 1996 seasons.;October 1:*2 a.m. PDT (0900 UTC) - Hurricane Otis reaches Category 2 intensity.;October 3:*2 p.m. PDT (2100 UTC) - National Hurricane Center issues its final advisory on Tropical Depression Otis, dissipating parallel to the Baja California Peninsula coast.;October 14:*8 p.m. PDT (0300 UTC October 15) - Tropical Depression Sixteen-E forms convert|400|nmi|km south of Acapulco, Mexico.;October 17:*8 p.m. PDT (0300 UTC October 18) - Tropical Depression Sixteen-E dissipates over open water.;October 19:*8 a.m. PDT (1500 UTC) - Remnant low of Tropical Depression Sixteen-E regenerates as a tropical cyclone.;October 20:*2 p.m. PDT (2100 UTC) - Tropical Depression Sixteen-E dissipates for a second time over open water.

November

;* No tropical cyclone activity occurred in November in the Pacific basin.

ee also

* 2005 Pacific hurricane season
* List of Pacific hurricane seasons
* Timeline of the 2005 Atlantic hurricane season
* Timeline of the 2005 Pacific typhoon season


Wikimedia Foundation. 2010.

Look at other dictionaries:

  • Timeline of the 2005 Atlantic hurricane season — The timeline of the 2005 Atlantic hurricane season documents the formations, strengthenings, weakenings, landfalls, extratropical transitions, and dissipations of the season s tropical and subtropical storms. The 2005 Atlantic hurricane season… …   Wikipedia

  • Timeline of the 2005 Pacific typhoon season — The 2005 Pacific typhoon season has no official bounds; it runs year round in 2005, but most tropical cyclones tend to form in the northwestern Pacific Ocean between June and December. These dates conventionally delimit the period of each year… …   Wikipedia

  • Timeline of the 2006 Atlantic hurricane season — The 2006 Atlantic hurricane season was the first since 2001 in which no hurricanes made landfall in the United States, and the first since 1994 that no tropical cyclones formed during October.cite web|author=Mainelli; Bevan|date=2006 11… …   Wikipedia

  • 2004 Pacific hurricane season — Infobox hurricane season Basin=EPac Year=2004 Track=2004 Pacific hurricane season map.png First storm formed=May 22, 2004 Last storm dissipated=October 13, 2004 Strongest storm name=Javier Strongest storm winds=130 Strongest storm pressure=930… …   Wikipedia

  • 1997 Pacific hurricane season — Infobox hurricane season Basin=EPac Year=1997 Track=1997 Pacific hurricane season map.png First storm formed=June 1, 1997 Last storm dissipated=December 6, 1997 Strongest storm name=Linda Strongest storm winds=160 Strongest storm pressure=902… …   Wikipedia

  • 1988 Pacific hurricane season — Infobox hurricane season Basin=EPac Year=1988 Track=1988 Pacific hurricane season map.png First storm formed=June 15, 1988 Last storm dissipated=November 2, 1988 Strongest storm name=Hector Strongest storm winds=125 Strongest storm pressure=935… …   Wikipedia

  • 1959 Pacific typhoon season — Infobox hurricane season Basin=WPac Year=1959 Track=1959 Pacific typhoon season summary.jpg First storm formed=February 27, 1959 Last storm dissipated=January 2, 1960 Strongest storm name=Super Typhoon Joan Strongest storm pressure=891 Total… …   Wikipedia

  • 1933 Atlantic hurricane season — Infobox hurricane season Basin=Atl Year=1933 Track=1933 Atlantic hurricane season map.png First storm formed=May 14, 1933 Last storm dissipated=November 17, 1933 Strongest storm name=#18 – 130 knots (150 mph, 240 km/h) #12 –… …   Wikipedia

  • 2008–09 South Pacific cyclone season — Season summary map First storm formed: December 1, 2008 (01F) Last storm dissipated: April 10, 2009 (15F) …   Wikipedia

  • 2007–08 South Pacific cyclone season — Season summary map First storm formed: October 17, 2007 Last storm dissipated: April 19, 2008 …   Wikipedia